

IN GRATEFUL RECOGNITION OF VAUGHAN C.A.R.E.S. **DECEMBER 31, 2002**

IN 1988 A GROUP OF RESIDENTS CONCERNED ABOUT THE IMPACT THAT THE KEELE VALLEY LANDFILL SITE COULD HAVE ON THE ENVIRONMENT, CAME TOGETHER TO FORM VAUGHAN C.A.R.E.S. (COMMITTEE OF ASSOCIATIONS TO RESTORE ENVIRONMENTAL SAFETY). OVER THE YEARS THIS GROUP WAS INSTRUMENTAL IN OPPOSING NUMEROUS INITIATIVES RESPECTING POTENTIAL EXPANSIONS AND EXTENSIONS OF THE KEELE VALLEY LANDFILL, AND IN 1995 WAS SUCCESSFUL IN RESISTING THE SITING OF A SECOND MEGA DUMP, WHICH WOULD HAVE BEEN THE LARGEST LANDFILL IN NORTH AMERICA. THE EFFORTS, HARD WORK AND UNRELENTING VIGILANCE BY THESE INDIVIDUALS ULTIMATELY CONTRIBUTED TO A BETTER SOCIETY FOR US ALL. IN APPRECIATION OF THE MANY YEARS OF DEDICATION, COMMITMENT AND CONTRIBUTIONS MADE BY THE MEMBERS OF VAUGHAN C.A.R.E.S. AND THE HUNDREDS OF OTHER VOLUNTEERS WHO HAVE HELPED MAKE A POSITIVE AND FUNDAMENTAL DIFFERENCE TO THE FUTURE OF OUR COMMUNITY, WE DEDICATE THIS PLAQUE AND RECOGNIZE THE FOLLOWING:

PRESIDENTS:

MARIO F. FERRI (1988 - 1997)

PETER BADALI (1998 - 2002)

MARILYN IAFRATE (1997 - 1998)

AURELIA BERTOCCHI (2000 - 2002)

DIRECTORS:

JOSEPHINE BADALI, ANGELA BORTOLUZZI, FRED CAMPOLI, GINA CAPO-JARICOT, RALPH CAPOCCI, ROBERT COLELLI, SANDRA G. COLICA, AGATA COMO, ALBERT CONTE. ESTERINA DAMIANI, CAROLYN DAVIS FISHER, PAT DE THOMASIS, ANTHONY DEL SOLE, FRANK DI COSTANZO, MARCELLA DI ROCCO, ANNAMARIE DONADIO, CAROL DONADIO, SHELAGH DONADIO, CARLA FORRIN, FILIPPO FERRI, LORETO FERRI, VICKIE FERRI, TERRI FONTANA, MONA FRANCIOSA, JOHN FRANCIOSA, MARY GOYO,
MARION HAFFNER MORGAN, RITA IANNETTA, JOHN KARTECHNER, HEIDI KREINER-LEY,
CHARLIE C. MACALUSO, JANA MANOLAKAS, BILL MANOLAKAS, SANDRA MARIN, HAROLD PAUL MASSI, PETER MEFFE, MASSIMO S. PANICALI, TERESA PAOLERGIO, SUE PERRELLA, JOSEPH PLANTAMURA, LINDA PLATI, PAT RICCARDI, JOHN A. RUSSO,

TERESA RUSSO, MIKE SANIO, VICTOR SCHARALLI, ANTOINELLA STRANGIS, DONNA M. TEGGART, HARVEY TENENBAUM, JUDITH TENENBAUM, GINA TOMASONE, ERNST VON BEZOLD, JAN WINTIES.

ON BEHALF OF THE CITY OF VAUGHAN:

MAYOR: [REGIONAL COUNCILLORS: COUNCILLORS:

MICHAEL DI BIASE

JOYCE FRUSTAGLIO, GINO ROSATI

MARIO F. FERRI - WARD 1, LINDA JACKSON - WARD 2, BERNIE DI VONA - WARD 3, MARIO G. RACCO - WARD 4,

SUSAN KADIS - WARD 5

AND FURTHERMORE, WE WISH TO RECOGNIZE THE CONTRIBUTIONS OF THE FOLLOWING:

LORNA JACKSON, FORMER MAYOR: GREG SORBARA, MPP; AL PALLADINI, FORMER MPP; TINA MOLINARI, MPP; MAURIZIO BEVILACQUA, MP

VAUGHAN C.A.R.E.S.

DECEMBER 31, 2002

In 1988 a group of residents concerned about the impact that the Keele Valley Landfill Site could have on the environment, came together to form Vaughan C.A.R.E.S. (Committee of Associations to Restore Environmental Safety). Over the years this group was instrumental in opposing numerous initiatives respecting potential expansions and extensions of the Keele Valley Landfill, and in 1995 was successful in resisting the siting of a second mega dump, which would have been the largest landfill in North America. The efforts, hard work and unrelenting vigilance by these individuals ultimately contributed to a better society for us all. In appreciation of the many years of dedication, commitment and contributions made by the members of Vaughan C.A.R.E.S. and the hundreds of other volunteers who have helped make a positive and fundamental difference to the future of our community, we dedicate this plaque and recognize the following:

PRESIDENTS: Mario F. Ferri (1988-1997)

Peter Badali (1998-2002)

Marilyn lafrate (1997-1998) Aurelia Bertocchi (2000-2002)

DIRECTORS:

Josephine Badali, Angela Bortoluzzi, Fred Campoli, Gina Capo-Jaricot, Ralph Capocci, Robert Colelli, Sandra G. Colica, Agata Como, Albert Conte, Esterina Damiani, Carolyn Davis Fisher, Pat De Thomasis, Anthony Del Sole, Frank Di Costanzo, Marcella Di Rocco, Annamarie Donadio, Carol Donadio, Shelagh Donadio, Carla Forrin, Filippo Ferri, Loreto Ferri, Vickie Ferri, Terri Fontana, Mona Franciosa, John Franciosa, Mary Goyo, Marion Haffner Morgan, Rita lannetta, John Kartechner, Heidi Kreiner-Ley, Charlie C. Macaluso, Jana Manolakas, Bill Manolakas, Sandra Marin, Paul Massi Harold, Peter Meffe, Massimo S. Panicali, Teresa Paolercio, Sue Perrella, Joseph Plantamura, Linda Plati, Pat Riccardi, John A. Russo, Teresa Russo, Mike Sanio, Victor Scharalli, Antoinella Strangis, Donna M. Teggart, Harvey Tenenbaum, Judith Tenenbaum, Gina Tomasone, Ernst vonBezold, Jan Wintjes.

ON BEHALF OF THE CITY OF VAUGHAN:

Mayor: Michael Di Biase

Regional Councillors: Joyce Frustaglio and Gino Rosati

Councillors: Mario F. Ferri - Ward 1, Linda Jackson - Ward 2

Bernie Di Vona - Ward 3, Mario G. Racco - Ward 4

Susan Kadis - Ward 5

AND FURTHERMORE, WE WISH TO RECOGNIZE THE CONTRIBUTIONS OF THE FOLLOWING:

LORNA JACKSON, FORMER MAYOR; GREG SORBARA, MPP; AL PALLADINI, FORMER MPP; TINA MOLINARI, MPP; MAURIZIO BEVILACQUA, MP