

CITY OF VAUGHAN REPORT NO. 1 OF THE ECONOMIC PROSPERITY TASK FORCE

For consideration by the Committee of the Whole of the City of Vaughan on March 8, 2021

The Economic Prosperity Task Force met at 8:02 a.m., on January 18, 2021.

ELECTRONIC PARTICIPATION

MEMBERS PRESENT

<u>Council Members</u>: Councillor Sandra Yeung Racco, Chair

Regional Councillor Mario Ferri, Vice-Chair

Members from the Public: Alessia lafano

Dan Vahid Mashatan

Diana Nuredini

<u>Industry Members</u>: Daniel Hengeveld

Susan Niczowski

Lisa Phillips Brian Shifman Richard Tam Mike Yorke

Guests: Jane Gertner, Venture Lab

Matt Skynner, Venture Lab

Corrado Paina, Italian Chamber of Commerce

Sue Rauth

Rosalie Graveline

Also Present: Rose Magnifico, Council / Committee Administrator

Raphael Costa, Acting Director, Economic and Cultural

Development

Kitty Yung, Project Manager, Smart City Business

Program

Felicia Coniglio, Communications and Engagement

Advisor

Michelle Samson, Economic Development Officer Shirley Kam, Manager, Special Projects Economic

Development

Julie Flesch, Entrepreneurship Coordinator

REPORT NO. 1 OF THE ECONOMIC PROSPERITY TASK FORCE FOR CONSIDERATION BY THE COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE OF THE CITY OF VAUGHAN ON MARCH 8, 2021

Kate Jung, Economic Development Officer Nadia Vidiri, Information and Administration Representative

The following items were dealt with:

1. <u>VAUGHAN'S BUILT-FORM OPPORTUNITY STATEMENT REVIEW</u> AND DISCUSSION

The Economic Prosperity Task Force advises Council:

1) That the discussion with respect to VAUGHAN'S BUILT-FORM OPPORTUNITY STATEMENT, was received.

2. FUTURE OF INTERNATIONAL TRADE: HOW DO WE ENGAGE SMES?

The Economic Prosperity Task Force advises Council:

 That the discussion with respect to the FUTURE OF INTERNATIONAL TRADE: HOW DO WE ENGAGE SMES?, was received.

3. INTERNATIONAL BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT

The Economic Prosperity Task Force advises Council:

1)	That the discussion led by the Hon. Mary Ng, Minister of Small Business, Export Promotion and International Trade, was received

The meeting adjourned at 9:35 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Councillor Sandra Yeung Racco, Chair